Croatian language

In tLjudevit Gajhe Republic of Croatia in official use Croatian language and Latin script. Croatian is the name used for the language spoken by Croatians, throughout Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and various Serbian provinces. There are two forms of Croatian: Standard Croatian and literary Croatian. Both of these forms stem from the dialect Shtokavian. This is also the basis for the languages Serbian, Montenegrin and Bosnian. The Croatian Latin was mostly designed by Ljudevit Gaj, who modelled  It after Czech and Polish, and invented lj, nj and dž. Gaj followed the example of Pavao  Ritter  Vitezović  and the Czech orthography, making one letter of the Latin script for each sound in the language.

The Croatian language first began to form around two hundred years ago. Chakavian texts were discovered from the 13th century, while Shtoktavian texts (which Croatian originates from) can be dated from around a century after this. The language of Croatian began to be standardized in the period called Baroque Slavism, the first part of the 17th century, but was not unified until the mid 18th century. This is when Croatian, in its Shtoktavian standard as we know it today, was formed.

The Croatian alphabet consists of 30 letters, of which 5 are vowels (a, e, i, o, u) and 25 consonants. Each sound is represented by a single letter. Beside regular latinic letters, Croatian alphabet also has diacritical letters (č, ć, đ, š, ž) and digraphs (dž, lj, nj). Dž is both a diacritical letter and a digraph. Croatian words are pronounced exactly how they are spelt.

There is no q, w, x or y in the Croatian alphabet.

Croatian alphabet hasthe following character set:





Accommodation booking


Uluguru Tours, tour company & safaris Royal Tour N Travel Advertisement Advertisement